warpednormal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I’ve never thought of myself as a small town kind of girl. Although funny enough I’ve always been drawn to novels and movies about small rural towns where drama and adventure lied in the gossip shared in hair salons and long bike rides as a kid by the local creek. I’ve always romanticized the slowness and pace of a small town, but I couldn’t see myself actually being comfortable in it. I’ve lived and worked downtown for almost 8 years and that’s become very much a part of where i’ve taken comfort in- knowing theres a show or a yoga studio or a party to go to.
But being here, way up north, in a small community in the middle of nowhere- where the excitement lies in a “music festival” that takes place in a small gym, or a local barbecue by the water, or bingo nights at the community centre. Where 3 year olds ride bikes around the dusty roads and hurt themselves without a parent in sight.

Its difficult here. I can’t imagine knowing only this. And yet I feel drawn to all of it and feel strangely comfortable and at home here. Could balance be all that I’ve been looking for and craving? I need both. The busyness and modernity of living in a vibrant city coupled with periods of quiet, minimalism, and small town beauty. The work is meaningful. Difficult and everything i’ve always wanted to do.

I wonder when i’ll be back.

12:34 p.m. - 2019-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Crazy-raver
Swordfern
myheavyheart
happyone
the-grey-one
zoela
elusive-you
unhealthyme
omfggwtf
notunique
friskyseal
deathoffsure
acuteapathy
doctorkaysen
witty-remark
deriveazure
darthuae
amazinfuckup
sun-dials
newschick
nessus
strayrecluse
emotionalist
theways
kabukicharms
axde
jimbostaxi
sexyatheist
msjessica
silver4
stellarrobot
flowermouth
ping-island
soulstyce
famoustn
karbonphyber
ceilings
shewholies
frankie123
raygirl999
atwowaydream
fuck--that
meanmoney
comebacktome
samcorday
pettyquarrel
jarofporter
Loveherwell