warpednormal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Not much new to add here
still inundated with negative self deprecating thoughts at times (lots of times) but I'm functioning fairly well
I'm going to work each day despite how traumatic it is- despite the suffering I see every single day within individuals and within a system that tends to fail people time and time again. Unfortunately, if you are not born in a loving enough family you are kind of fucked for the rest of your life- because really, the government and the current systems in place (political, health, justice etc) are not set up to really ensure you have the environment to reach your highest potential. nothing can replace family and community when it comes down to it. worse, abuse and neglect puts you behind even more- especially if its done by the hands of people that were supposed to protect you. worse, these things tend to get passed down through generations- how else are you supposed to know how to cope with life if this is all you've been taught-- fear and mistrust? poor boundaries? things that are super difficult to fix as an adult unless you have the resources and the safe environment to do those things.
working with young adults who have only known this throughout their childhoods and are only just becoming adults - with brains still forming and wiring- I do what I can to co-regulate and teach skills that can make that happen. but I can't make up for a system that can't protect. I can't make up for intergenerational trauma. but I can continue to show up because this just happens to be my calling.

I'm fucking lucky to do what I do
but I've only been back for 2 weeks and I'm exhausted

8:21 a.m. - 2021-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Swordfern
myheavyheart
Crazy-raver
happyone
the-grey-one
zoela
elusive-you
unhealthyme
friskyseal
notunique
acuteapathy
deathoffsure
witty-remark
deriveazure
amazinfuckup
darthuae
moodswing
nessus
strayrecluse
portlypete
theways
kabukicharms
jimbostaxi
axde
msjessica
stellarrobot
silver4
ping-island
papotheclown
atwowaydream
frankie123
karbonphyber
shewholies
fuck--that
comebacktome
Aryssa90
pettyquarrel
jarofporter
Loveherwell