warpednormal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

We go diving together for the first time. We awake for the day at 6am, chug some coffee and drive over to Porteau Cove where we half expect the parking lot to be completely full of keen divers. When we arrive, we are the only divers on the scene, I wonder if this is because we chose the worst time to go and the currents are going to sweep us away. I still feel calm .We set up our gear, I struggle with a few of the parts but he double checks everything to ensure it’s secure and that I won’t run into any fatal mishaps once we are in the water. He helps place the BCD over my shoulders. this is the hardest part, carrying the weight of the tanks down the stairs and wearing thermals under a dry suit as the sun slowly starts to come up. I’m sweating under my hood and my shoulders ache. My favourite part is laying in the water for the first time, inflating my jacket and removing the weight of the vest instantly. I feel light and happy. I swim awkwardly on my back and smile at the sky. He looks funny in his hood but I’m so thankful he’s here. We descend slowly, I don’t struggle, the weight is just right. When we reach the bottom my mask instantly fills with fog and I fail to fill it up with enough water and clear it properly. Despite that I don’t feel panicked. We ascend to the surface and fix my mask. We descend again. We swim through the silt, the dust, the visibility is hella poor, but I get to see man made wrecks and tires covered in reefs and a bit of life. We see small crabs and stoic rock fish sit on the bottom and on the wreck. Majestic white giant plumose surround us, while little bits of white fluff play before my eyes. I’m laughing through my regulator as he does dumb things with the fish.

A small shark then pops into view, he looks at us intensely and circles us slowly. My heart is racing. A free diver scares us as he swims from the surface and into the wrecks out of nowhere. It is all exhilarating and frightening, but I feel safe.

As we swim back to shore, I feel light and happy. He says I did well. We watch an ocean rescue release some adorable seal pups back into the water. We’re exhausted and say little as we drive back. We fall into bed together for an afternoon nap.. “I just love you so much” he says. And again, I feel safe. Even as we tackle the scary shit, I feel safe.

9:50 a.m. - 2020-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Swordfern
myheavyheart
Crazy-raver
happyone
the-grey-one
zoela
elusive-you
unhealthyme
friskyseal
notunique
acuteapathy
deathoffsure
witty-remark
deriveazure
amazinfuckup
darthuae
moodswing
nessus
strayrecluse
portlypete
theways
kabukicharms
jimbostaxi
axde
msjessica
stellarrobot
silver4
ping-island
papotheclown
atwowaydream
frankie123
karbonphyber
shewholies
fuck--that
comebacktome
Aryssa90
pettyquarrel
jarofporter
Loveherwell