warpednormal's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I am pretty exhausted. overwhelmed. I keep thinking about my own work, how I too inadvertently contribute to a violent and traumatic system by calling police during mental health emergencies. since when is the police state the frontline to our mental health and substance use crises? does it help the I work so closely and personally with Black and Indigenous people who are over represented in our prison system, our foster care system etc.

I'm inspired by everyone posting and speaking up. I'm a bit frustrated with my boyfriend for barely acknowledging any of it- he left for Campbell river today, so his mind has been a bit occupied. but he's white. and a man. and is afforded the privilege to not have to think about it. so am I technically. as an asian woman I am not unfairly targeted by police, I cannot ever fully comprehend. but I know in my heart I should bring it up more often- acknowledge that this is big, a reckoning that we need to face.

I'm not sure what else to say. I care about this planet and the people on it. I'm not a loud speaker or even a good writer. My work however is to listen, listen, and be a presence to those who are unheard.

11:40 p.m. - 2020-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Swordfern
Crazy-raver
myheavyheart
the-grey-one
happyone
zoela
elusive-you
unhealthyme
friskyseal
notunique
acuteapathy
deathoffsure
witty-remark
deriveazure
amazinfuckup
darthuae
sun-dials
newschick
nessus
strayrecluse
theways
emotionalist
kabukicharms
jimbostaxi
axde
msjessica
silver4
stellarrobot
ping-island
karbonphyber
papotheclown
frankie123
shewholies
atwowaydream
fuck--that
comebacktome
Aryssa90
pettyquarrel
jarofporter
Loveherwell